An Aftershoot Galleries alternative: Aurant vs Aftershoot Galleries
Aftershoot Galleries is a client-gallery product launched by Aftershoot, the AI culling and editing tool photographers already pay for; its headline capability is AI face search and face gating, where a guest takes a selfie and is shown only their own photos. Aurant puts files, galleries and the client work (invoices, contracts, booking) in one account on every plan, Free included — and has shipped guest face search, with its retention and destruction schedule published. Here is how to choose.
What we say about Aftershoot Galleries was checked on Aftershoot Galleries’s own pages, as of October 2026. Prices and features change, so check their site before you decide.
Choose Aftershoot Galleries if…
- You already pay for Aftershoot’s culling and editing tool and want your galleries on the same platform as your editing.
- Face gating is the thing you want most: it is what Aftershoot Galleries leads on — a guest takes a selfie and is shown only their own photos.
- You want your move paid for: free migration is bundled into Aftershoot Galleries’ paid plans.
Choose Aurant if…
- You want face search AND to be able to show a client what happens to the face data: on Aurant the gallery owner turns it on per gallery, the photographer affirms they hold the consent of the people in the photographs — recorded with their name, the time and the wording they agreed to — and the retention and destruction schedule is published at /privacy/face-search.
- You or your clients work in French: the app you work in, and every page your clients open, are fully in English and French.
- You want invoices, quotes, contracts with online signing and booking pages in the same account on every plan, Free included — not only galleries.
- You want to know exactly how much of the studio assistant you get: Rosa is 20 actions a month on Free, 200 on Basic, 1,000 on Pro and 3,000 on Ultimate, and on Pro and up a request is planned by a larger model before it acts.
- Your files must arrive exactly as you exported them: Aurant keeps them at full resolution and never recompresses them.
- You deliver films as well as photographs: Aurant’s Free plan takes video, and films play straight from the link.
- You would rather pay in your local currency by mobile money: in much of Africa, an Aurant plan can be prepaid that way.
Side by side.
| What you get | Aurant | Aftershoot Galleries |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 5 GB, one portfolio, unlimited galleries with no limit on files per gallery. No card. | Not quoted here. Aftershoot’s own page presents its pricing as a limited-time launch preview, and its free tier was found stating two different storage allowances, so no Aftershoot figure is given rather than guessed. |
| Paid plans from | £9 a month (Basic, 200 GB). Yearly billing saves 15%. | Not quoted here, for the same reason — check Aftershoot’s own pricing before you decide. What its page does state: Aftershoot Galleries is sold standalone or bundled with Aftershoot’s own culling product, and free migration is bundled into its paid plans. |
| Most storage | 4 TB on Ultimate. | Not quoted: the one storage figure on Aftershoot’s own pages was found stated two different ways. |
| Print and product sales | No print store or lab integration. From Basic, you can sell digital downloads from a gallery if you choose to, at your price, and Aurant takes no cut. | Not stated on the page checked (aftershoot.com/galleries). |
| Invoices, contracts, booking | In the same account: invoices, quotes and client management on every plan (Free includes 3 clients and 3 invoices, unlimited from Basic); contracts with online signing and booking pages on every plan, Free included. | Not stated on the page checked. What it leads on there is AI face search and face gating: a guest takes a selfie and is shown only their own photos. |
What we say about Aftershoot Galleries was checked on Aftershoot Galleries’s own pages, as of October 2026. Prices and features change, so check their site before you decide.
Switching from Aftershoot Galleries
Download your galleries from Aftershoot Galleries as folders or zip files, then use Import galleries in Aurant: each folder becomes a gallery and its sub-folders become sets, at full resolution. Your client list comes across from Aftershoot Galleries’s export file. Imported galleries stay hidden until you have checked them.
Moving from Aftershoot Galleries? Start free and import your galleries.
Questions.
- Why does this page not say what Aftershoot Galleries costs?
- Because we could not check it. Our rule for these pages is that a fact about another platform goes in only if we read it on that platform’s own site, and anything we could not check is left out rather than guessed. Aftershoot’s own page presents its plan prices as a limited-time launch preview, and its free tier was found stating two different storage allowances (as of October 2026), so we quote neither. Aurant’s side is the full picture: 5 GB free with no card, and £9 a month for 200 GB on Basic.
- Does Aurant have face search?
- Yes, and it shipped before this comparison was written. A guest opens the gallery, takes a selfie, and is shown the photographs they appear in. The gallery owner turns it on per gallery; switching it on asks the photographer to affirm that they hold the consent of the people in the photographs, and that affirmation is recorded with their name, the time and the wording they agreed to. The schedule for how long a face index is kept and when it is destroyed is published at /privacy/face-search — not held internally.
- Can I bring my galleries over?
- Yes, with the three imports that work today. Download a gallery as folders or zip files and upload it in Import galleries — each folder becomes a gallery and its sub-folders become sets, at full resolution. Or paste a shared Dropbox or Google Drive link and our servers copy it in. Your client list comes across from a spreadsheet export. Imported galleries stay hidden until you have checked them. We are not running a paid-migration offer, so nobody will move them for you.
- Is Aurant available in French?
- Yes, fully: the app you work in, and the galleries and pages your clients open, are in English and French.
- Do I need an editing tool to use Aurant?
- No. Aurant does not cull or edit — it takes the files you have already exported, at full resolution, and handles delivery, the portfolio, invoices, contracts and booking. If culling is what you are buying, that is Aftershoot’s own product and this comparison is not about it.
Try it on a real job.
Where these facts come from
Other comparisons: Aurant vs Pixieset, Aurant vs Pic-Time, Aurant vs ShootProof, Aurant vs SmugMug, Aurant vs Zenfolio, Aurant vs CloudSpot, Aurant vs Pixpa, Aurant vs Fotosut